Our Mission Statement
The Kentucky State Board of Hairdressers & Cosmetologists was created to protect the health and safety of the general public, to protect the public against misrepresentation, deceit, or fraud in the practice or teaching of beauty culture, to set standards for the operation of the schools and salons, and to protect the students under the provisions of this chapters.
Office Hours and Locations
We are open Monday through Friday, 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Kentucky Board of Hairdressers & Cosmetologists
111 St. James Court, Suite A
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601
Our online License Renewal System only works with Internet Explorer. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may cause you.
License Renewal for 2017-18 begins on July 1, 2017
September 20, 2017- Felony Pre Approval For Cosmetology School Enrollment
As Of October 1, 2017, the Board will no longer evaluate nor provide pre-approvals of felony convictions for perspective or current cosmetology students. Felony approval by the board is not required to be a cosmetology student in the state of Kentucky however felony convictions may preclude someone from professional licensing. Felony documentation for Board evaluation and approval is to be submitted when the application for examination/licensure occurs and will not be accepted before that time.
Felony Review Memo.pdf
August 28, 2017- September Examination Schedule
Sept 2017 Exam Schedule.pdf
May 23, 2017 (Updated June 5, 2017)- Kentucky State Cosmetology Reorganization Information
As of June 1, 2017 the Kentucky State Board of Hairdressers and Cosmetologists WILL NOT be combining with the Kentucky State Board of Barbering. Other details of the Reorganization will move forward as originally planned.
Reorganization of General Government Boards- Talking Points.pdf
Any questions regarding this matter may be directed to Elizabeth Goss Kuhn at firstname.lastname@example.org .
May 16, 2017 (Updated May 19, 2017)- House Bill 217 Changes Hourly Requirement for Kentucky Cosmetology Licensure
Memorandum-Implementation of HB 271.pdf
Proposed Change for 201 KAR 12 082.pdf
May 3, 2017- Esthetician and Nail Technician Hours Can Now Be Applied Toward Cosmetology Education (Please See Notice Below for Details):
Nail Tech Esthetician Hours Transfer.pdf
May 1, 2017- Changes to Nail Technician Practical Examination Supply List:
Effective June 1, 2017- All Sculptured Nail Products (powder, primer, "odorless" liquid) brought into the examination must be in ORIGINAL, UNOPENED container with manufacturer's label indicating the product is "odorless"
March 15, 2017- Procedure Change for Out-Of-State Licensees wishing to transfer their license to the State of Kentucky (Effective March 15, 2017):
Any person who holds an out-of-state license for more than two years may submit an application for license transfer to be considered by the Kentucky State Board of Hairdessers and Cosmetologists.
The following documentation must be submitted with your application before it can be considered for approval:
- Copy of Driver's License or State Issued ID.
- Proof of work history-Minimum of past 2 years, maximum past 5 years. Tax documentation or Certified employment verification from previous employer must be submitted for this requirement.
- Certification of Professional License- Must be requested by applicant from professional licensing board for that state. Please request all certifications be submitted directly to the Kentucky State Board of Hairdressers and Cosmetologists. Certifications cannot be accepted from the applicant. (Applicants holding an Indiana license may submit electronic certification from their state licensing agency.) Please verify this document IS on file at the KBHC office before submitting the application for license transfer. The application cannot be evaluated for approval until ALL documentation is present.
- Proof of 12th Grade Education- College, High School, or GED transcript or Diploma is Acceptable. Education obtained outside of the United States must be submitted with an official translation.
PLEASE NOTE: Processing Time for Out-of-State transfer applications received complete and correct in the Board office is 30 days. Please Plan Accordingly.
If You Have Not Received Your License After You Have Submitted the Renewal
No renewed licenses can be reprinted until 30 days after they were accepted. If you have not received your license after 30 days you must submit a written statement requesting a reprint of the license to the board office no later than October 1. The statement must be signed and dated and state that you did not receive your license from renewals. Any requests for reprint postmarked after October 1 will be denied and you will be required to submit a duplicate license application with the required fee.
Please Be Advised
KBHC has received reports that Salons licensed thru our agency have been receiving automated calls concerning Salon inspections. KBHC does not send automated messages of any kind.